Developing Great Leaders who Develop Great Leaders

This is my personal motto, which applies to my Servant Leadership seminars and lessons. I have been practicing and teaching the Servant Leadership philosophy for the past 15 years, although until about 5 years ago I didn’t realize it until I finished my Masters’ studies in Organizational Leadership at Chapman University.

Servant Leadership is leading from the heart, with the intent of serving the developmental needs of the follower thereby creating within them leadership traits that serve the needs of their organization, their position, their own selves and their well-being. The philosophy was started by Robert Greenleaf in 1970. It is fast becoming the leadership method and practice of choice of many people and organizations. Coach Tony Dungy calls it Mentor Leadership, which is a great way to look at it as a practice.

I have found that it reduces discipline problems, improves self-confidence and self-esteem, which improves personal effectiveness and efficiency.

I have been teaching the practice for about four years now and am starting my own Professional Speaking business under the name of Vanguard Organizational Leadership (VOL) Training. My seminars are designed to “Put a SPARK in your Leaders” to move them to the next level of personal leadership.  I have inspired people attending my seminars to do more research into the subject, read Greenleaf’s books.

I recommend those interested to first read “Journey to the East” by Herman Hesse to learn about the “Law of Service”.

I will write more about Servant Leadership and other Organizational Developments practices in future blogs. I will also be posting some human interest stories as well as mentoring and spirituality thoughts.

Thank you for taking the time to read them.

Leave a Reply

