Leadership Resolutions for 2013

Have you made yours yet?  You know, those helpful and highly successful New Year’s Resolutions for the coming year. People routinely make resolutions to lose weight, start a work-out routine, exercise weekly, the list goes one. However, if surveyed, most people never achieve their resolution quest; many never even start.

Image

 This year I am making the following 2013 Leadership Resolutions.

 1. I resolve to improve my personal Emotional Intelligence as written by Daniel Goldman in What Makes A Leader? I resolve to improve in four areas:

            a. I resolve to become more self-aware of my emotional control in dealing with confrontational situations. I resolve to accurately self-access through daily reflections of my interaction with other people. I will be a seeker with determination to improve daily my inner being in order to “know Imagemyself” in a more intrinsic realm.

            b. I resolve to manage the control of my emotions, my enthusiasm, my interactive communications with others and my drive for excellence.

            c. I resolve to be more socially aware in my relationship-building with others, making a sincere and concentrated effort to exhibit the deepest level of empathy attainable in my listening habits. I resolve to live a purposeful “service oriented” life, providing a high quality, calling-driven attitude in my interactions with others.

            d. I resolve to be more influential toward others with inspirational and developmental leadership to all with whom I work, mentor, communicate and teach. I resolve to be flexible toward accepting change even when I may not like or approve of the new ideal. I resolve to build a solid bond with those on my team, being collaborative with those whom I lead, and manage conflict with a vision of making results better for all parties.

Image2. I resolve to be a seeker of leadership ideals, practices and purposes that will improve the manner in which I speak publically about leadership in general, and organizational success specifically.

Image

3. I resolve to be more dedicated to those within my circle of influences, who are leadership seekers in their own realm, by providing ideals, principles, and practices that will enable them to better lead in their own organizations, families, and in their personal endeavors.

 4. I resolve to lead with a highly moral and ethical standard of moral aImageuthority that will be worthy of respect, will inspire trust and confidence, and will maintain a high level standard of performance. I resolve to empower others to lead within clear and firm, yet flexible boundaries within moral and ethical standards of performance.

 5. I resolve to follow John Maxwell’s advice and “Treat everyone like a 10” as I would want to be treated. Image

6. I resolve to live by the Golden Rule by leading others in like manner as I would want to be led; i.e. “Doing unto them as I would that they in like manner would to do unto me.”

 7. I resolve to proactively mentor other leaders with leadershipSL From Within PRIDE: “Personal Responsibility in Developing Everyone.” I resolve to make a difference in the lives of others that I mentor and lead.

8. I resolve daily to lead with a “Level 5 Personhood” quality, empowering others to grow as leaders, respecting others to build an uncompromising level of trust.

9. I resolve to be a Servant Leader, practicing Greenleaf’s principles of servant-hood, stewardship and dedication to others first, always remembering that my leadership is not about me, but about others.

 Image

10. I resolve that I will every day, not just for 2013, but for the remainder of my time on earth, evolve toward my Servant Leadership Vision, and hope that my legacy will be that of sustainable leadership that is being passed down from leader to leader as Greenleaf envisioned.

 We are all seekers for different reasons. I believe leadership comes with an ethical responsibility to continually attempt to make a difference, not only in the organization in which we work and lead, but also in the lives of those whom we lead.

 What is be your leadership resolution for the coming year, or years?

 I look forward and thank you in advance for your comments and thoughts.

2 responses

  1. Thank you! these are great resolutions to keep in mind and I would like to add that a groundbreaking online conference designed for experienced executives interested in achieving outstanding business results through transformational leadership will take place in February. Here is the info to attend: http://goo.gl/3yMCH

    1. Thank you Ricardo. Tell me about the online conference, if you would, to my email address: davidmcc44@comcast.net. I would like to make a presentations to supplement the focus of the conference. Thank you.

      David

Leave a Reply

